113 ministers in Rajapakse’s cabinet

[TamilNet, Friday, 03 July 2009, 03:44 GMT]
The number of ministers in the Cabinet of ruling party United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) led by President Mahinda Rajapakse rose to one hundred and thirteen Thursday with the induction of two more ministers, Nandana Gunatilake and Piyasiri Wijenayake of the National Freedom Front (NFF), a splinter group of the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP). NFF is an ally of the UPFA since JVP broke away from the alliance, sources in Colombo said.

Nandana Gunatilake was sworn in before the President Thursday afternoon as the Minister of Tourism development and Piyasiri Wijenayake as non-cabinet Minister of Cultural Affairs.

Milinda Morogoda, former Minister of Tourism Thursday was sworn in as Minister of Justice and Judicial Reforms to fill the vacancy created with the demise of former Minister of Justice Dodangada Amarasiri.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: