TNA candidates for Trincomalee district announced

[TamilNet, Thursday, 19 February 2004, 18:32 GMT]
Tamil National Alliance ex-parliamentary group leader Mr.R.Sampanthan is to lead the TNA list of candidates in the Trincomalee district at the forthcoming general election. This was announced at a meeting of local leaders of four Tamil political parties, constituents of the TNA held Thursday night in Trincomalee town with the participation of the Trincomalee district political head of the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam Mr.S.Thilak.

Former national list parliamentarian Mr.K.Thurairatnasingham was placed second in the list.

TEEDOR Trincomalee district head Mr.S.Tharman presided.

Except the name of the Muslim candidate to be included in the TNA list for Trincomalee district, all other six names were announced on Thursday.

Mr.S.Gowrimuhunthan of the Tamil United Liberation Front (TULF), Mr.Satha.Shanmuganathan of All Ceylon Tamil Congress (ACTC), Mr.C.Vikneswaran of the Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization, (TELO) and Mr. S.Ragunathan of Eelam Peoples Revolutionary Liberation Front (EPRLF-Suresh wing) are the other candidates in the TNA list.

Mr.Sampanthan said the name of the Muslim candidate would be finalized within a day.

TNA candidates for Trinco elections
( L-R ) Mr.V.Vikenswaran of TELO, Mr.R.Sampanthan 0f TULF, Mr.K.Thurairatnasingham of TULF, Mr.S.ragunathan of EPRLF ( Suresh wing ) and Mr.Satha Shanmuganathan of ACTC are seen in the picture. Mr.Gowrimuhunthan of TULF and the Muslim candidate are not in the picture.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: