2nd Lead (Adds photos)

TNA submits nomination lists for NE electoral districts

[TamilNet, Monday, 23 February 2004, 08:42 GMT]
The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) Monday noon submitted its nominations for the five electoral districts, Jaffna, Vanni, Trincomalee, Batticaloa and Amparai, in the Tamil dominated northeast province. TNA fielded its candidates in the name of the Ilankai Thamil Arasu Katchchi (ITAK) and its election symbol "HOUSE". The ITAK last contested in the 1970 elections under the leadership of late Tamil leader Mr.S.J.V.Chelvanayakam ("Thanthai Chelva"), political sources said.

The legal wrangle over the leadership of the Tamil United Liberation Front (TULF) forced the TNA to contest the forthcoming general election in the ITAK ticket. The TNA at the last general election held competed on the TULF ticket in its symbol "RISING SUN," sources said.

The TNA currently comprises four Tamil political parties, ITAK (instead of TULF), All Ceylon Tamil Congress (ACTC), Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization (TELO) and Suresh wing of the Eelam Peoples Revolutionary Liberation Front (EPRLF), sources said.

The lead candidates on the TNA lists in Jaffna, Vanni, Trincomalee, Batticaloa and Amparai are Mr. Mavai Senathirajah of TULF, Mr.Selvam Adaikalanathan of TELO, Mr.R.Sampanthan of TULF, Mr.Jospeh Pararajasingham of TULF and Mr. A.Chandra Nehru of TULF respectively, sources said.

TULF secretary general Mr.Sampanthan, ACTC President Mr.A.Vinayagamoorthy, Secretary General of the EPRLF (Suresh wing) Mr.Suresh Premachchandran, Mr.Selvam Adaikalanathan of TELO are competing in Trincomalee, Vavuniya, Jaffna and Vavuniya respectively, sources said.

The districtwise lists of TNA candidates contesting in the elections follow: -

Jaffna electoral district:
Messrs.Mavai Senathirajah, Nadaraja Raviraj and S.Sivamaharasa of TULF, Ponnambalam Gajendrakumar and Mr.C.V.K.Sivagnanam of ACTC, M.K.Sivajilingam and N.Sri Kantha of TELO, Solomon Cyril of Jaffna District Peoples Forum, S.Sivanesan of Jaffna Coconut and Palmyra Federation activist, Mrs. Pathmini Sithamparanathan, Suresh Premachchandran of EPRLF Suresh wing and S.Gajendran, President of International Thamileelam Students federation.

Vanni electoral district:
Mr.Selvam Adaikalanathan, Mr.Sivasakthi Anandan, Mr.Sivanathan Kishor, Mr.Appadurai Vinayagamoorthy, Mr.Jon Bennet Christopher, Mr.Samiyoor Noor Mohamed Shajani, S.Kanagaretnam, Mr.S.Kanagaretnam, Mr. Augustine Joseph Mariyanayagam Soosai, and Mr. Vino Noharathalingam

Trincomalee electoral district:
Messrs R.Sampanthan, K.Thurairetnasingham, Mr.Gowri Muhunthan and Mr.Sahul Hameed of TULF, Mr. Sathasivam Shanmuganathan of ACTC, K.Ragunathan of EPRLF (Suresh wing) and V.Vigneswaran of TELO.

Batticaloa electoral district:
Mr.Joseph Pararajasingham, Mr.Rajan Sathyamoorthy, Mr.T Kanagasabai, Mr.Kingsley Rasanayakam, Mr.P.Ariyanethran, Mr.S.Jeyanandamoorthy, Miss Thangeswary Kathirgaman, and Mr. S.Kanagaretnam.

Amparai electoral district:
Messrs Ariyanayakam Chandra Nehru, K.Pathmanathan, S.Vivekanandan, S.Rasanayakam, S.Sriskandarajah, S.Suntharalingam, S.Thinakarampillai, Thomas Thangathurai William, Ms Yogambihai Sabapathy, Velupillai Kalyanasuntheram and Rasasekaram Sivakumar.

Jaffna Nominations
Sivajilingam seen after submitting his nomination papers for his candidacy (Click on the image for a larger picture)
Jaffna Nominations
Jaffna TNA woman candidate Ms Pathmini Sithamparanathan

Jaffna Nominations
Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam, Suresh Premachandran, Sivajilingam and other TNA contestants talking to supports in front of Jaffna Secretariat

Jaffna Nominations
TNA candidates at the Kopay Heroes cemetary
Jaffna Nominations
TNA candidates at the Kopay Heroes cemetary

Jaffna Nominations
TNA contestants at the Kopay Heroes cemetary

Jaffna Nominations
Jaffna Nominations
Jaffna TNA candidates holding first press briefing--Candidates Sivajilingam, Gajendran, Mavai Senathirajah, Suresh premachchandran, CVK Sivgnanam and Ravi in the picture

Jaffna Nominations
Ms.Pathmini Sithamparapillai and other TNA candidates at the Kopay Heroes cemetary

Related Articles:
05.02.04   Tamil national unity forum launched in Colombo
23.11.03   Students' Association condemns SLA intimidation in Jaffna
23.09.03   Daily edition of Tamil paper launched in Batticaloa
12.05.03   Pirapaharan felicitates Kumar's family
14.03.03   Vanni TNA MPs fast, demanding Tamil detainees' release
08.01.03   Batticaloa journalist's home attacked
08.11.02   Kanjirankuda report unacceptable - Vivekanandan
08.11.02   Tamil member of Kanchirankuda committee dissents
03.02.02   'I'll don the stripes if UNF peace fails' -Chandranehru
22.09.01   TULF should struggle for Tamil liberation -Mavai


Latest 15 Reports
15.09.20 06:37   Photo
UN Rights Chief joins her predecessors in watering down collective rights of genocide affected people
04.09.20 22:13   Photo
Diaspora youth group re-aligns Tamil narrative on enforced disappearances
03.09.20 15:41   Photo
Jude Lal Fernando’s Sputnik interview exposes unfolding British duplicity on KMS ‘investigations’
02.09.20 22:03   Photo
Gotabaya's ‘Task Force’ monk threatens Tamils to stay away from their paddy fields in Thiriyaay
01.09.20 23:36  
Colombo extends genocidal land grab targeting farmlands of Tamils along NE border: Ravikaran
31.08.20 16:36   Photo
Families of war-disappeared send strong message braving SL restrictions on International Day
08.08.20 01:05   Photo
Sumanthiran alleged of exerting Colombo’s influence to tamper with preferential vote counts
07.08.20 10:08  
2020 election resembles 1970 polls that formed genocidal Sri Lanka
06.08.20 17:22  
Tamil nation-oriented parties challenged in East
05.08.20 23:41  
High voter turnout registered in North-East
04.08.20 20:57   Photo
Occupying Sinhala military reminds Eezham Tamils of whose elections they partake
03.08.20 21:05  
TMVP-linked operatives collaborate with SL Navy, suppress Tamil fishers in Vaakarai
02.08.20 18:29   Photo
Manifestos of TNA, TNPF and TMTK expose lacuna, hint areas for corrections of Tamil polity
01.08.20 21:17  
Unified Eezham Tamil national front, beyond electoral politics, is next step: Jothilingam
31.07.20 22:39  
Colombo isolates Tamil political prisoners within heavily fortified cells
Find this article at: