UNP, UPFA avoid Jaffna district

[TamilNet, Tuesday, 24 February 2004, 12:27 GMT]
The Returning Officer of the Jaffna electoral district Mr.S.Pathmanathan Tuesday accepted nomination lists from eight political parties and two independent groups to Contest the forthcoming general election fixed for 2 April, election department sources said.

The two Sinhala major political parties, United National Party and United Peoples Freedom Alliance (SLFP-JVP) are not contesting in the Jaffna electoral district, sources said.

Ilankai Thamil Arasu Katchchi, Eelam Peoples Democratic Party, Jathika Hela Urumaya, United Socialist Party, New Left Front, Ruhunu Peoples Party, Sri Lanka Muslim Congress and Swarajaya Party are contesting.

Jaffna GA
Jaffna Government Agent, S. Pathmanathan

One independent group led by the president of the Tamil United Left Front (TULF) Mr. V.Anandasangaree and a second independent group led by M.S.Mohamed Rafee also have entered the contest, sources said.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: