UPFA, UNP to launch election campaign Thursday

[TamilNet, Wednesday, 25 February 2004, 14:48 GMT]
Two major Sinhala political parties, United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) led by President Ms Chandrika Kumaratunge and United National Party (UNP) led by Prime Minister Mr.Ranil Wickremasinghe are to launch their election campaign with rallies scheduled to be held in Anuradhapura in the north central province and Kandy in central province on February 26 Thursday, political sources said.

Ms.Kumaratunge, leader of the UPFA (alliance of Sri Lanka Freedom Party and Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna) is to preside the Anuradhapura election rally and Mr.Ranil Wickremasinghe is to lead Kandy rally, sources said.

Twenty-eight registered political parties and 192 independent groups have fielded about 5698 candidates vying for 196 parliamentary seats at the forthcoming general election, which has been fixed for 2nd April.

Meanwhile, the UNP and UPFA released their national lists. Under the proportionate representation system political parties and independent groups can nominate twenty nine members to the national list to parliament, based on the ratio of votes polled on island basis, sources said.

The UNP national list follows:

K.N.Choksy, Tilak Marapone, G.L.Peiris, Tyrone Fernando, Navin Dissanayake, M.Aswer, Ronnie de Mel, M.Musthapa, Ali Zahir Mowlana, Dr.Ranjit Attapattu, S.Yasanayake, Kesara Senanayake, Ms Rankanayaki Pathmanathan, Raja John Pillai, M.A.Hassan Ali, Ajith Cabral, Srinal de Mel, Ms Indrani Iriyagolla, Hussain Ahamed, Ismail Mohamed, Ms Fathima Fahima, S.A.S.Balfadur Nizar, W.D.S.Pushpakumara, M.S.Sellasamy, V.Puthirasikamany, V.Radhakrishnan, P.Radhakrishnan and P.Parameshwaran.

The UPFA national list follows:

Lakshman Kadirgamar, Prof A.V.Suraweera, Prof.Visva Warnapala, Richard Pathirana, Oye Gunasekara, Cegu Issadeen, Anwar Ismail, Prof Tissa Vitharana, Rupasingha Gunawardene, M.M.Zuhair, R Chandrasekara, J.Mary Lucida, Ajantha de Soyza, Suppiah Pathmalochana, M.V.A.Aziz, S.Subaideen, C.Koswatte, Warna Deepthi Rajapakse, P.Kumarasinghe Liyanage, M.M.Wasantha Samarasinghe, Leel Gunasekara, Dr.M.I.M.Mooshin, V.Thangarajah, G.S.B.Rani Perera, Cyril Wickremage, R.A.D.D.Weerasekara, P.Jayampathi, Janadasa Peiris, Keerthi Sumanasiri.

Batty Weerakoon, leader of Lanka Sama Samaja Party (LSSP) and former Justice Minister and Minister of Technology in the PA government, is not included in the list. LSSP recently agreed to join the SLFP-JVP alliance.


Latest 15 Reports
15.09.20 06:37   Photo
UN Rights Chief joins her predecessors in watering down collective rights of genocide affected people
04.09.20 22:13   Photo
Diaspora youth group re-aligns Tamil narrative on enforced disappearances
03.09.20 15:41   Photo
Jude Lal Fernando’s Sputnik interview exposes unfolding British duplicity on KMS ‘investigations’
02.09.20 22:03   Photo
Gotabaya's ‘Task Force’ monk threatens Tamils to stay away from their paddy fields in Thiriyaay
01.09.20 23:36  
Colombo extends genocidal land grab targeting farmlands of Tamils along NE border: Ravikaran
31.08.20 16:36   Photo
Families of war-disappeared send strong message braving SL restrictions on International Day
08.08.20 01:05   Photo
Sumanthiran alleged of exerting Colombo’s influence to tamper with preferential vote counts
07.08.20 10:08  
2020 election resembles 1970 polls that formed genocidal Sri Lanka
06.08.20 17:22  
Tamil nation-oriented parties challenged in East
05.08.20 23:41  
High voter turnout registered in North-East
04.08.20 20:57   Photo
Occupying Sinhala military reminds Eezham Tamils of whose elections they partake
03.08.20 21:05  
TMVP-linked operatives collaborate with SL Navy, suppress Tamil fishers in Vaakarai
02.08.20 18:29   Photo
Manifestos of TNA, TNPF and TMTK expose lacuna, hint areas for corrections of Tamil polity
01.08.20 21:17  
Unified Eezham Tamil national front, beyond electoral politics, is next step: Jothilingam
31.07.20 22:39  
Colombo isolates Tamil political prisoners within heavily fortified cells
Find this article at: