JVP politburo meets to decide on ministerial dispute

[TamilNet, Monday, 26 April 2004, 16:26 GMT]
The politburo of the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) began its crucial discussion Monday evening on the alternative suggestions submitted by Sri Lanka's President, Ms. Chandrika Kumaratunge, in regard to the allocation of Mahaveli Development Ministry to JVP, political sources said.

A JVP high powered delegation Monday morning met with Ms. Kumaratunge in the Presidential House and discussed in detail about the crisis in allocating ministries to JVP. During the discussion Ms. Kumaratunge tabled alternative suggestions to JVP leaders to sort out the existing difference of opinion between the two major constituent parties, sources said.

During the discussion both parties agreed to exercise maximum flexibility with the sole objective of finding solutions to all problems, the sources said.

The JVP delegation comprised Messrs Tilvin Silva, Wimal Weerawanse, Nandana Gunatilake and Anura Kumara Dissanayake. The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) delegation comprised the Prime Minister Mr.Mahinda Rajapakse, Ministers Messrs Susil Premajayantha, Maithripala Sirisena and Mangala Samaraweera. Ms. Kumaratunge presided.

The JVP politburo began its deliberations on the President's suggestion in the evening and the discussion is in progress, sources said.

Meanwhile, a senior leader of the SLFP and Minister, Mr.Anura Bandaranaike, expressed confidence Monday that dispute over ministerial allocation to the JVP would be resolved by Wednesday, sources said.


Latest 15 Reports
17.05.21 19:23   Photo
Ananthi blames war criminal Silva for blocking collective memorial at Mu'l'livaaykkaal
23.03.21 12:41   Photo
No focus on Tamil genocide, geopolitics gets played out in Geneva in favour of QUAD formation
21.03.21 13:34   Photo
Navi Pillay explains ‘human rights’ limitations in Geneva on Tamil genocide
15.03.21 20:36   Photo
Deceived Tamil activists in UK falsely claimed ‘substantial changes’ to Zero draft
09.03.21 21:34   Photo
UK repeatedly wronged Tamils says hunger-striker, demands genocide justice
26.02.21 11:53   Photo
Tamils witness false dilemma in Geneva as geopolitical formations pit against each other
19.02.21 14:02   Photo
UK not prepared to push for ICC option in new UNHRC Resolution
07.02.21 23:16   Photo
Unprecedented P2P uprising paves the way for rights-oriented politics of Tamils and Muslims
22.01.21 08:01   Photo
Gotabaya sets up deceptive COI citing ‘sovereignty’ and ‘non-aligned’ foreign policy
18.01.21 23:44   Photo
Tamil activists resisted three sources of outside influence while drafting demands to UNHRC
16.01.21 11:03  
Tamil national parties demand UN to inquire into crime of genocide and set up IIIM
09.01.21 09:37   Photo
Demolition of Tamil genocide monument, fourth emblematic trauma since 1974: Rev Fr Sakthivel
08.01.21 23:51   Photo
Colombo destroys Mu'l'livaaykkaal memorial monument at Jaffna University
07.01.21 11:22   Photo
With emphasis on genocide, Suresh calls for ICC-referral, IIIM and referendum
07.01.21 00:04   Photo
Boyle prefers IIIM demand over ICC-referral, says specific reference to genocide essential
Find this article at: