Tamil villages in Trinco district ignored in electrification -TNA MP

[TamilNet, Tuesday, 07 September 2004, 14:53 GMT]
Several Tamil villages in Muttur and Seruvila electorates in Trincomalee district are not supplied with electricity although transformers are located in the vicinity of these villages and electric cables go overhead. This is a deplorable situation," said Trincomalee district parliamentarian Mr.K.Thurairetnasingham in a letter to the Minister of Power and Energy.

Mr.Thurairetasingham has listed those villages in his letter. "The villages Lingapuram Athiamman Kerni and Thanganagar in Seruvila division, Palathadichenai, Palathoppur, Narayanapuram, Amman Nagar, Ganeshapuram, Thangapuram, Srinivasapuram and Ithikulam in Muttur division, Potkerney and Sivasakthipuram in Thampalakamam division, Sunkankuli in Kinniya division, Illupaikulam and Kanniya in Trincomalee division are not supplied with electricity," said Mr.Thurairatnesingham.

Koonitheivu to Fowl Point, Sampoor to Ilakanthai and Kadatkaraichcenai to Cheenenveli in Muttur division and Kuchchaveli to Thiriyai in Kuchchaveli division should be brought under rural electrification scheme, Mr.Thurairatnesingham requested the Minister Mr.Susil Premajayantha.


Latest 15 Reports
17.10.19 19:14   Photo
SL Police resorts to violence in grabbing lands of Tamil fishers in Batticaloa North
16.10.19 23:19   Photo
Chennai Connect and Eezham Tamils reminding Tamil Nadu to assert Tamil geopolitics
15.10.19 23:50  
Colombo destroys dairy-farming economy of Eezham Tamils in Batticaloa
14.10.19 23:48   Photo
Tamil parties in North-East stipulate ‘acid test’ terms to SL presidential candidates
13.10.19 22:15   Photo
SL Governor's latest land grab poses danger to archaeological traces of Eezham Tamils
12.10.19 22:23   Photo
Monks step up campaign against Muslims, want to carve out Sinhala colony in Ampaa'rai
11.10.19 22:07   Photo
Vote for Self-Determination, reject major candidates for more effective boycott
10.10.19 23:31   Photo
SL Police intensifies restrictions on Saiva devotees at disputed ‘chaitya’ hilltop in East
09.10.19 20:17  
Indian Coast Guard trespassed into waters off Jaffna, 18 fishers detained since 03 October
08.10.19 18:43  
Divisional Secretary, TNA MPs must act to release Chegnchoalai lands: civil activist
07.10.19 23:12   Photo
Heinous act by HRCSL: former orphans of Chegnchoalai on the brink of losing lands
06.10.19 12:21  
EPDP joins Jaffna protest against desecration of Neeraaviyadi temple
05.10.19 22:06  
Families inheriting lands from parents refused of land registration in Moothoor East
04.10.19 21:50  
SL Archaeology, Police continue to disturb Tamils’ right to worship at Vedukku-naa'ri hilltop
03.10.19 19:16  
Raghavan plans to distribute uncultivatable lands to Tamils to compensate for loss of fertile lands
Find this article at: