LTTE in Brussels to meet EU, Belgian Govt. Officials

[TamilNet, Sunday, 17 October 2004, 17:53 GMT]
Liberation Tigers delegation led by Head of Political Wing, S.P.Thamilchelvan, arrived in Brussels Saturday, sources close to the LTTE said. The LTTE delegation is scheduled to meet with European Union (EU) officials on Monday. Later Monday the LTTE team will be meeting offficials of the Department of Foreign Services of the Government of Belgium, according to LTTE sources.

Eurpean Union FlagLTTE delegation will depart Tuesday to Norway, their next itinery in their month long tour of Europe.

European Union earlier sent an Observer Mission, led by European Parliament member Mr.John Cushnahan, to monitor and report on the April 2004 elections held in Sri Lanka.

Initially, the EU consisted of just six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom joined in 1973, Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986, Austria, Finland and Sweden in 1995. In 2004 the biggest ever enlargement took place with 10 new countries joining.

Related Articles:
10.07.04   EU urges parties to restart talks
16.03.04   Ensure franchise to Tamil voters, TNA tells Cushnahan
07.02.04   EU assures support to North-East development


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: