Trinco Lions honour Past Presidents, appoint new Head

[TamilNet, Thursday, 28 July 2005, 02:51 GMT]
Mr.A.Ramanan was appointed as the fourteenth President of the Lions Club of Trincomalee Town and eight Past Presidents Messrs Ben Xavier, T.Sivaretnarajah, M.S.Devadasan, N.Mahendran, B.Janaranjan, M.M.Jalaldeen, B.Udhayasankar and A.Ravindrarajah of the Club were honored at an event held last weekend at Silver Beach Hotel in Trincomalee, sources said.

Trinco Lions
Past Presidents (with garlands) are seen with chief guest Mr.Amara Dissnayake
Trinco Lions
Tsunami affected Muslim women in Jamaliya seen waiting to get mosquito nets from the Lions Club of Trincomalee Town in Jamalaiya Maha Vidiyalayam premises
Mr.Amara Dissanayake, Vice District Governor was the chief guest. He officially appointed the new office bearers of the Lions Club of Trincomalee Town for the Year 2005-2006. Mr.Dissanayake garlanded the Past Presidents of the club later.

Mr.B.Udhayasankar outgoing President handed over the Presidency to Mr.Ramanan thereafter soon after the induction of new office bearers.

Earlier Mr.Amara Dissanayake distributed imported mosquito nets to tsunami hit Muslim families residing in Jamaliya village, a suburb in the Trincomalee town on behalf of the Lions Club of Trincomalee town.

Club officials Mr.Udhayasankar, Mr.Ramanan and Mr.C.J.Ratnakumar also participated in the event held in Jamaliya Maha Vidiyalayam premises Sunday morning, sources said.
Trinco Lions
Mr.Ramanan ( L) being installed as 14th President by Vice District Governor Mr.Dissanayake
Trinco Lions
Mr.Ramanan speaking


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: