Three vie for Jaffna campus VC post

[TamilNet, Saturday, 28 January 2006, 15:12 GMT]
The Jaffna University Senate Saturday decided to send the names of three Professors for the post of Vice Chancellor which is to fall vacant on March 12 when the incumbent, Professor S.Mohanathas, leaves office. Jaffna University Senate, which met Saturday afternoon, selected three out of six professors who contested for the post and decided to send these names to the President Mr.Mahinda Rajapakse for his choice through the University Grants Commission (UGC), sources said.

Professor K.Kumaravadivelu, Professor K.Kandasamy (both from Jaffna University) and Professor S.R.H.Hoole of Peradeniya University were selected in the voting that took place Saturday.

According to UGC regulation, three names should be forwarded to the President who in turn will appoint one of them as the Vice Chancellor, sources said.

Other unsuccessful candidates were Professor Ms. R.Maheswaran, Professor V.Vithiayananthan and Dr.V.S.Rajaretnam, sources said.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: