Eleven NE local bodies go to polls on 20 May

[TamilNet, Friday, 14 April 2006, 13:56 GMT]
Elections to 22 local government institutions including the Municipal Councils of Colombo, Galle, Gampaha and Kalmunai and Urban Councils of Vavuniya, Gampola and Wattegama are to be held on May 20. Elections to these local bodies earlier scheduled for March 30th were first postponed to April 18 and now extended to May 20 to avoid intervening Wesak holidays and GCE Advanced Level examination, election department sources said.

Eleven of 22 local government institutions to go to polls on May 20 are located in the districts of Vavuniya, Batticaloa and Amparai in northeast province and were postponed to September 30, sources said.

Local authorities that are going to polls on May 20 in the North East follow: -

Vavuniya UC, Vavuniya (Sinhala division) Pradesiya Sabah in Vavuniya district

Kattankudy UC, Koralaipattu West PS, Eravur PS, Navithanveli PS, Pottuvil PS, Kalmunai MC, Addalaichchenai PS, Akkaraipattu PS, Ninthavur PS in the east.

The rest local authorities are in the south, sources said.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: