ITAK administration in Trinco UC begins

[TamilNet, Thursday, 20 April 2006, 15:09 GMT]
Mr. S.Gowrimuhunthan of Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi (ITAK) Thursday took oath as the Chairman of the twelve-member Trincomalee Urban Council and Mr. Kanthasamy Selvarajah Vice-Chairman. Mr.K.Sivapalan, senior attorney-at-law administered oaths to all the twelve members of the Trincomalee UC in Tamil language at an event held in Trincomalee Town Hall in the presence of religious leaders of all the four faiths, sources said.

New Trinco UC, 2006.
Mr.Gowrimuhunthan takes oaths before Attorney-at-Law Mr.K.Sivapalan as Trinco UC Chairman.
Of the 12 members ten are from the ITAK and the rest two from Independent Group. Of the 12 councilors, nine are Tamils and three Muslims. Of the three Muslims two are from the Independent Group and one from the ITAK and all are Tamil speaking, sources said.

Sivasiri Pon Sivakumarakurukkal, Venerable Mihindapura Mahindawanse Nayake Thera, Reverend Fr.George Dissanayake and Moulavi Ibrahim Rabsa blessed the new elected administration of the Trincomalee UC.

Earlier ITAK councilors accompanied by Mr.K.Thurairatnasingham, Trincomalee district parliamentarian visited places of worships of all faiths- Kali Ambal Temple, Mosque, St.Mary's Cathedral and Buddhist Vihare in Buddhist Centre in Trincomalee.

Mr.S.Vipulanandan, UC Secretary received the new Chairman Mr. Gowrimuhunthan by garlanding him and thereafter other councilors by members of the UC staff.

Mr. Gowrimuhunthan later hoisted the UC flag.

New Trinco UC, 2006.
All 12 members with Attorney Mr.Sivapalan and UC Secretary Mr.Vipulanandan.
New Trinco UC, 2006.
Newly elected councillors of Trincomalee UC participating in the inaugural event in Trinco Town Hall with parliamentarians Mr.Mavai Senatharajah and Mr.K.Thurairatnasingham.
Mr. Gowrimuhunthan thereafter delivered his address followed by Vice Chairman and councilors. Mr.Mavai Senathirajah, General Secretary of the ITAK and Jaffna district parliamentarian, Mr.K.Thurairatnasingham, Trincomalee district parliamentarian and Mr.K.Gunanathan, Regional Assistant Commissioner of Local Government spoke at the event.

Mr. Gowrimuhunthan, Mr.K.Selvarasa, Mr. K.Thurairasa, Mr. J.Pulendraraj, Mr.P.Muniyandy, Mr.K.Arulsevam, Mr. T.Karikalan, Mr.R.N.Varathan, Mr.A.H.Sahul Hameed and Ms Kanmany Amma Ratnavadivel of ITAK and Mr. Nahoor Noor Mohamed and Mr. Farook Sultan took oaths.
New Trinco UC, 2006.
Trinco UC newly elected members with religious leaders.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: