ITAK officials take oaths in three Amparai Councils

[TamilNet, Thursday, 20 April 2006, 19:36 GMT]
The Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi (ITAK) took control of three Pradesiya Sabahs, Alaiyadivembu, Thirukovil and Karaitivu in Amparai district Thursday. Mr.Kanagasabai Pathmanathan, Amparai District Tamil National Alliance (TNA) parliamentarian with Mr.M.S. Peer Mohamed Thamby administered oaths to the newly elected councilors of these PS in separate events the same day, sources said.

ITAK captured all nine seats of the Alaiyadivembu PS, and the Thirukovil PS and four of the five seats in the Karaitivu PS in the election held on March 30. The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) won one seat in the Karaitivu PS, sources said.

Mr.P.H.Piyasena and Mr.Murugan Anaikutty took oaths as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Alaiyadivembu PC along with seven other councilors. Ms.Chrishan, Secretary of the PS presided over the event, sources said.

Mr.Thillainathan Uthayakumar and Mr.Sangarapillai Sabapathy took oaths as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Thirukovil PS respectively along with four other councilors. Three ITAK councilors did not attend the event Mr.K.Paranirupasingham PS Secretary presided

Mr.N.Jeevarajah and Mr.V.Krishnamoorthy took oaths as Chairman and Vice Chairman of Karaitivu PS along three other councilors and one of them from SLMC. Mr.K.Ganeshamoorthy, PS Secretary presided

In the all three events parliamentarian Mr.K.Pathmanathan addressed. He exhorted the newly elected ITAK administration of these councils to work hard to develop their villages with available resources.

He added that all TNA has launched a vigorous campaign in parliament in support of Tamil nationalism. Likewise in addition to developing their areas local authorities controlled by ITAK should also contribute to the cause of Tamil nationalism, sources said.


Latest 15 Reports
02.07.20 22:26  
Colombo imposes restrictions on Tamil valour related symbolism in schools of North
01.07.20 13:22  
New secret unit among four SL military and police squads competing to arrest Tamil youth in North
30.06.20 22:10  
Tamils blocked from accessing properties near SL Navy training base in Champoor, Trincomalee
29.06.20 23:29   Photo
Moragoda advising Gotabaya prompts Sinhala parties to scrap Provincial Councils
28.06.20 22:06  
India privileging BRIC/RIC over Quad ‘discordant’, says former US top diplomat
27.06.20 22:11  
Indo-Pacific expert wants US to seek opportunities in ‘Sri Lanka’
26.06.20 21:24  
Russia steps up influence on New Delhi to uphold “multilateralism” against US “rules-based order”
25.06.20 23:53  
Pompeo talks about US reposturing troops, mentions India, Vietnam, Malaysia and Indonesia
24.06.20 23:36   Photo
Devananda circumvents court order, manipulates Jaffna fishers to allow poachers from South
23.06.20 22:03  
Sinhala encroachment of pastureland continues unabated in Batticaloa
22.06.20 18:17  
SLMC Chairman: Time for joint Tamil-Muslim efforts
21.06.20 23:11   Photo
Ex-councillor: Poverty-stricken Tamils at receiving end of SL military brutality in North
20.06.20 23:53   Photo
Tamil man killed, Sinhala Army opens fire at motorbike rider at Mukamaalai in North
19.06.20 23:30  
Dr Amir Ali: SL Archaeology aims to obliterate Tamil traces, shrink territory of Muslims in East
18.06.20 21:02  
Colombo steps up surveillance harassment on organisations operating in East
Find this article at: