Verugal PS councilors take oaths

[TamilNet, Thursday, 20 April 2006, 20:08 GMT]
The only local government institution, Verugal Pradesiya Sabah (PS) in the Liberation Tigers controlled area in the Trincomalee district began functioning with effect from Wednesday when all seven councilors of the PS returned uncontested in the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi (ITAK) ticket took oaths before a Justice of Peace in the presence of Mr.S.Elilan, LTTE Trincomalee district political head. Mr.Puratchi, Trincomalee head of the Thamileelam Students Department hoisted the Thamileelam National Flag, sources said.

Verugal PS. 2006.
Ms Santhamathy Thevathas, woman member of the Verugal PS lighting the common flame of sacrifice.
Mr.Sabapathipillai Soundararajah and Mr.Vyran Nagendran assumed duties as the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the PS respectively soon after they took oaths, sources said.

At the commencement of the event, all the seven members lit the common flame of sacrifice.

Mr.K.Umamaheswaran, Eachchilampathu Assistant Government Agent unveiled the name board of the office of the PS which is a newly carved out institution.

Mr.Elilan declared open the office building. Mr.Sabapathipillai Soundararajah, PS Chairman spoke at the event.

Mr.Elilan in his keynote address said the victory of the ITAK in the recent election for the Trincomalee Urban Council had been the cause for the genocidal attack on Tamils and their businesses in town.

Verugal PS, 2006.
Mr.Elilan opens the new PS office building.
Verugal PS. 2006.
Mr.Puratchi hositing the Thamileelam National Flag
Earlier there was an opinion that Trincomalee town was in the hands of chauvinist elements. The local election results had demolished that image and had given a message to the international community that Trincomalee is a Tamil speaking people traditional land, he said.

Verugal PS. 2006.
Verugal PS Chairman Mr.S.Soundararajah speaking, Mr.Elilan and Mr.Umamaheswaran, AGA seated.
Mr.Sabapathipillai Soundarajah, Mr.Vairan Nagendran, Mr. Nallathamby Arasaratnam, Mr.Paramsothy Disayakumar, Mr.Mylvaganam Sivakumar, Mr.Verakutty Arinesarajah and Ms Santhamathi Thevathas are the members of the Verugal PS.

Villages now come under the administration of the newly carved out Verugal PS were earlier administered by the Seruvila PS dominated by Sinhalese.

Verugal PS. 2006.
Newly elected members of the PS seen seated along the hall with garlands and members of public participating in the event


Latest 15 Reports
18.08.19 23:50   Photo
SL TID detains outspoken Tamil doctor at Pazhai hospital
17.08.19 23:08   Photo
SLA Jaffna commander refuses to release Palaali lands at meeting presided by Wickramasinghe
16.08.19 13:25   Photo
SL Archaeology Department resumes plans to construct controversial ‘chaitya’ at Koonith-theevu
15.08.19 21:39  
Wickramasinghe lacks courage to meet protesting Tamil mothers in North
14.08.19 23:31   Photo
2006 genocidal massacre at Chengchoalai campus marked in Vanni, Jaffna amidst PTA-threats
13.08.19 17:45   Photo
Tamil awareness urged on geopolitics-driven genocidal ‘development’ in Mannaar
12.08.19 20:04   Photo
Percival's 19th century Tamil proverb compilations collated and sorted in new publication
11.08.19 20:32   Photo
PTA-threats against constructing memorial arch for student victims of 2006 aerial massacre
10.08.19 22:49   Photo
Sinhala encroachers storm into 100 acres of lands at Kanneeraavi in Pulmoaddai
09.08.19 14:28  
SL Forest Department retains 8,034 hectares of pasturelands in Paduvaan-karai, Batticaloa
08.08.19 20:05   Photo
Colombo converts 2000 acres of ex-HSZ lands citing India-assisted airport expansion in Jaffna
07.08.19 23:28   Photo
Book on Santhiya becomes narration of Tamil struggle incorporating Marxist ideas in early 80s
06.08.19 23:27   Photo
State discrimination causes death of 1000 cows, milk production drops by 5,500 litres in Batticaloa
05.08.19 23:55   Photo
Pirapaharan’s statements between 1984 and 1993 reproduced in book form in Europe
04.08.19 23:47   Photo
Threatened female activist suffers injuries in suspicious ‘accident’ in Batticaloa
Find this article at: