Trinco Inner Wheel Club new President appointed

[TamilNet, Sunday, 09 July 2006, 09:33 GMT]
"Human rights, Democracy and Good Governance are at its lowest ebb. Within these constraints we seek to serve the community. We seek to serve the marginalized and the vulnerable in whatever way we can. They need all the assistance and we are duty bound to serve them as 'friendship and service' are the aims of this group," said Ms Rathirany Sivapalan, the new President of the Trincomalee Inner Wheel Club at an event held Thursday evening at the Trincomalee Rotary House.

Inne wheeler club
Ms Rathirany Sivapalan (L) after being installed as new President of Trincomalee Inner Wheel Club with outgoing President Ms Rajeevi Vigneswaran.
Inne wheeler club
Chief guest Ms Thilakawathi Arumugam, guest of honour Mr.Borham, with President and new office bearers of the Trincomalee Inner Wheel Club posing after installation event.
Ms Thilakavathi Arumugam, retired Principal of the Trincomalee Sri Shanmuga Hindu Ladies College was the chief guest. Mr.J.W.M.Borham, Trincomalee Rotary Club President was the guest of honour at the event.

Ms Sivapalan in her speech said: "After twenty years of suffering and four years of relative calm again people in the North East are facing tremendous hardships. Both the war-torn and tsunami affected internally displaced, especially in the Trincomalee district, have again become refugees escaping on perilous boats with babies and elders, seeking their own protection and security in the neighbouring land.

"We will not be able to serve the thousands that need help, but only a very few in the ocean of want and need in the Trincomalee district in the present circumstances. But, let us try. Let us move forward. Let us remove the indignity and oppression faced by our people. Let us fight for social justice. Let us all "show that we care through friendship and service," Ms Sivapalan concluded.

At the commencement the chief guest and other guests were received by members of the club. Ms Rajeevi Vigneswaran outgoing president installed the new President Ms Rathirany Sivapalan. Dr.Ms. Gowshi Gnanagunalan, Joint Vice President read the annual report.

Ms Arumugam and Mr.Borham also spoke.

Ms Latha Thirukumaranathan, Secretary of the Club for the current year proposed vote of thanks.


Latest 15 Reports
02.11.21 15:32   Photo
13 ஆம் சட்டத்திருத்தத்தால் கட்டமைக்கப்பட்ட இன அழிப்பை எதிர்கொள்ள முடியுமா?
17.05.21 19:23   Photo
Ananthi blames war criminal Silva for blocking collective memorial at Mu'l'livaaykkaal
23.03.21 12:41   Photo
No focus on Tamil genocide, geopolitics gets played out in Geneva in favour of QUAD formation
21.03.21 13:34   Photo
Navi Pillay explains ‘human rights’ limitations in Geneva on Tamil genocide
15.03.21 20:36   Photo
Deceived Tamil activists in UK falsely claimed ‘substantial changes’ to Zero draft
09.03.21 21:34   Photo
UK repeatedly wronged Tamils says hunger-striker, demands genocide justice
26.02.21 11:53   Photo
Tamils witness false dilemma in Geneva as geopolitical formations pit against each other
19.02.21 14:02   Photo
UK not prepared to push for ICC option in new UNHRC Resolution
07.02.21 23:16   Photo
Unprecedented P2P uprising paves the way for rights-oriented politics of Tamils and Muslims
22.01.21 08:01   Photo
Gotabaya sets up deceptive COI citing ‘sovereignty’ and ‘non-aligned’ foreign policy
18.01.21 23:44   Photo
Tamil activists resisted three sources of outside influence while drafting demands to UNHRC
16.01.21 11:03  
Tamil national parties demand UN to inquire into crime of genocide and set up IIIM
09.01.21 09:37   Photo
Demolition of Tamil genocide monument, fourth emblematic trauma since 1974: Rev Fr Sakthivel
08.01.21 23:51   Photo
Colombo destroys Mu'l'livaaykkaal memorial monument at Jaffna University
07.01.21 11:22   Photo
With emphasis on genocide, Suresh calls for ICC-referral, IIIM and referendum
Find this article at: