Fifth UNP parliamentarian to join UPFA government

[TamilNet, Sunday, 30 July 2006, 12:44 GMT]
Mr.Neomal Perera, a parliamentarian of main opposition United National Party (UNP) from Puttalam district is set to cross over to the United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) led by President Mahinda Rajapakse, media sources in Colombo said.

The number of UNP parliamentarians crossed over to the government since the incumbent President took office will be increased to five when Mr.Neomal Perera is formal.

Mr Perera is to be given a Deputy Minister position, parliamentary sources said.

UNP parliamentarians Rohitha Bogollagama, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Keheliya Rambukwella and W.B.Ekanayake have previously crossed over to join the government. Messrs Rohiththa Bogollagama and Mahinda Samarasinghe have been appointed Cabinet ministers, Mr.Keheliya Rambukwella a non-cabinet minister and the fourth Mr.Ekanayake who joined the government last week a deputy minister, media sources said.

Government sources said at least six to seven more UNP parliamentarians are planning to cross over in the coming days.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: