Rajapakse, Wickremesinghe to co-chair MoU monitoring committee

[TamilNet, Sunday, 29 October 2006, 14:47 GMT]
The high level committee appointed to monitor the implementation of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed by the ruling Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), main constituent of the ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA), and the main opposition United National Party (UNP), is to co-chaired by Sri Lanka's President Mahinda Rajapakse and the opposition leader Ranil Wickremasinghe, political sources in Colombo said.

Mr. Wickremasinghe has appointed three UNP parliamentarians as members in the high level monitoring committee on behalf of the UNP.

Deputy Leader Karu Jayasuriya, Rukman Senanayake, who is to take over the chairmanship of the UNP at the next party convention scheduled to be held in November, and Joseph Perera, former Speaker of the Sri Lanka's parliament.

Nominees of the SLFP will be announced this week by Mahinda Rajapakse, sources said


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: