Five Jaffna councillors resign

[TamilNet, Thursday, 26 November 1998, 04:36 GMT]
Five councillors from the People's Liberation Organisation of Tamil Eelam (PLOTE) resigned from their posts yesterday. Among the 234 councillors elected to the local council bodies in the Jaffna peninsula in January this year, 68 have so far resigned their posts.

The PLOTE councillors who resigned their posts today are: Sebastian Iruthayarasa, San John Dominic Sarve and Murugesu Thirutharan representing the Jaffna Municipal Council and N. Vijyeyakumar and K.Pathmasiri reprsenting Chavakachcheri Town Counil.

Local Government elections were held in the Jaffna Peninsula in January this year.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: