UPFA-TMVP alliance wins Batticaloa local elections

[TamilNet, Tuesday, 11 March 2008, 00:40 GMT]
Sri Lanka President Mahinda Rajapaksa's ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) that contested jointly in the elections for the Batticaloa Municipal Council with the paramilitary TMVP group has secured 11 seats with 14,158 votes. The coalition of remaining paramilitary groups has won 6 seats. The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) and the Eelavar Democratic Front (EDF) have both secured one seat each in the Municipal Council. Voter turnout was at 53 percent in Batticaloa city. Around 10% of the voters who turned up for voting have cast invalid votes.

The mainstream opposition parties in the Tamil National Alliance and the United National Party (UNP) have not participated in the local elections.

Batticaloa MC
UPFA: 11 seats, Independent Group: 6 seats, SLMC: 1 seat and the EDF: 1 seat.
Votes polled were 53%. Of these, 9.7% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Ea'raavoorpattu PS
TMVP: 10 seats, SLMC: 2 seats, UPFA: 2 seats and Independent Group: 1 seat.
Votes polled were 62%. Of these, 11% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Koaralaippattu PS
TMVP: 6 seats, SLMC: 2 seats and the UPFA: 2 seats.
Votes polled were 68%. Of these, 10% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Koaralaippattu North PS
TMVP: 10 seats and the UPFA: 1 seat.
Votes polled were 79%. Of these, 12% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Ma'nmunai South and Eruvilpattu PS
TMVP: 7 seats and the independent group: 3 seats.
Votes polled were 48%. Of these, 13% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Ma'nmunaippattu PS
TMVP : 7 seats and the SLMC: 2 seats.
Votes polled were 75%. Of these, 6% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Ma'nmunai West PS
TMVP: 6 seats and the Independent Group: 3 seats.
Votes polled were 67%. Of these, 17% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Ma'nmunai South West PS
TMVP: 8 seats and the Independent Group :1 seat.
Votes polled were 65%. Of these, 19% of the voters have cast invalid votes.

Poaratheevuppattu PS:
TMVP: 7 seats and independent group: 2.
Votes polled were 45%. Of these, 20% of the voters had cast invalid votes.


Related Articles:
07.03.08   'Frankenstein' franchise in Batticaloa - TNA MP


Latest 15 Reports
26.02.21 11:53   Photo
Tamils witness false dilemma in Geneva as geopolitical formations pit against each other
19.02.21 14:02   Photo
UK not prepared to push for ICC option in new UNHRC Resolution
07.02.21 23:16   Photo
Unprecedented P2P uprising paves the way for rights-oriented politics of Tamils and Muslims
22.01.21 08:01   Photo
Gotabaya sets up deceptive COI citing ‘sovereignty’ and ‘non-aligned’ foreign policy
18.01.21 23:44   Photo
Tamil activists resisted three sources of outside influence while drafting demands to UNHRC
16.01.21 11:03  
Tamil national parties demand UN to inquire into crime of genocide and set up IIIM
09.01.21 09:37   Photo
Demolition of Tamil genocide monument, fourth emblematic trauma since 1974: Rev Fr Sakthivel
08.01.21 23:51   Photo
Colombo destroys Mu'l'livaaykkaal memorial monument at Jaffna University
07.01.21 11:22   Photo
With emphasis on genocide, Suresh calls for ICC-referral, IIIM and referendum
07.01.21 00:04   Photo
Boyle prefers IIIM demand over ICC-referral, says specific reference to genocide essential
06.01.21 14:26  
Indian Minister of External Affairs Jaishankar trades off Tamils’ sovereign rights
05.01.21 07:08  
TNPF's reluctance, NGO-meddling pose challenges to formulating joint Tamil demands to UN: Shivaji
06.12.20 15:44   Photo
Colombo’s brutal suppression of Tamil Heroes’ Day counter-productive to stated objectives: Tamil MP
27.11.20 16:44   Photo
Occupied Tamil Eelam marks Heroes' Day indoors, SL military detains seminary principal
16.11.20 18:45  
China launches world’s biggest regional trade agreement without Indian participation
Find this article at: