UPFA-TMVP secures Mayor post in Batticaloa MC

[TamilNet, Thursday, 13 March 2008, 16:10 GMT]
Paramilitary TMVP group Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Pullikal (TMVP) candidate, who jointly contested in the elections for the Batticaloa Municpal Council with Sri Lanka President Mahinda Rajapaksa's ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA), was appointed Mayor of Batticaloa Municipal Council (MC) in the TMVP committee meeting Wednesday, TMVP Secretary, Kailasarasa said. Daughter of Sathiyamoorthy Rajan, the assassinated Tamil National Alliance (TNA) parliamentary candidate in 2004 general elections, Pirabakaran Sivakeertha, known as Pathmini, polled 4,722 preferential votes and was appointed Mayor of Batticaloa MC.

Edwin Silva alias Piratheep Master, a TMVP contestant, who polled 3,805 was appointed Deputy Mayor.

Pirabakaran Sivakeertha is the first woman to become the Mayor of Batticaloa.

Two Sinhalese, Muthiyan Salage Dayananda, UPFA candidate and Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMG) candidate, Muhiyan Salage Nanthasiri, were elected members of Ea’raavoor Predeshiya Sabai, polling 1468 and 722 preferential votes respectively.

Muthiyan Salage Dayananda is a resident of Mangalagama while Muthiyan Salage Nanthasiri is from Ea’raavoor area.

Two candidates of the Independent Group -1 for Batticlaoa MC, Kanthasamy Mahenthirarasa and Chelliah Aseerwatham polled equal number of preferential votes (949) and lots were cast to decide on the winner.

Chelliah Aseerwatham emerged winner in the casting of lots and was elected as the sixth and last member in Independent Group – 1 list.

Batticaloa Government Agent and Election Officer, Suntharam Arumainayagam conducted the casting of lots with the consent of the contestants.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: