Two new MPs to be sworn in on Tuesday

[TamilNet, Sunday, 06 April 2008, 02:23 GMT]
Two new parliamentarians Solomon Cyril, representing the Tamil National Alliance (TNA), and M. Naushad from the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC), are to be sworn in April 8 to fill the vacancies in the districts of Jaffna and Ampaarai when the parliament meets on Tuesday, parliamentary sources said.

The vacancy in the Jaffna district was created by the death of Jaffna district Tamil National Alliance (TNA) parliamentarian K.Sivanesan who was killed in claymore mine attack by the Deep Penetration Unit of the Sri Lanka Army inside the LTTE held Wanni region.

The vacancy in Ampaarai district was created with the resignation of SLMC leader Rauf Hakeem to contest the Trincomalee district as the chief candidate of the main opposition United National Party (UNP) for the forthcoming east provincial council.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: