2 elected provincial councils in south dissolved

[TamilNet, Monday, 09 June 2008, 17:22 GMT]
Governors of North Central Provincial Council (NCPC) and Sabragamuwa Provincial (SPC) Council now being administered by the ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) have decided to dissolve the elected administrations of these councils on the recommendation of the respective chief ministers. The dissolution would come into effect from Monday midnight, government sources said.

At a conference held in Colombo both chief ministers had consented to Sri Lanka's President Mahinda Rajapakse to dissolve their councils and hold elections, media sources reported.

The government is to announce the dates for the election to these provincial councils shortly. The life terms of these PCs are to expire in 2009 August.

Chief Ministers Mr.Berty Premalal Dissanayake and Mr.Mahipala Herat have informed their governors that they are unable to conduct their administration as they have lost majority in these councils.

In the NCPC the ruling UPFA has only 13 members against 19 in the opposition (UNP 10, JVP 8 and SLMC 1).

In the SPC the UPFA has only 19 against 26 (UNP 15, JVP 10 and CWC 1).

The Governors have been conferred with powers under the 13th Amendment to the Constitution to dissolve the councils on the recommendation of chief ministers.



Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: