11 new political parties apply for registration

[TamilNet, Friday, 13 June 2008, 17:17 GMT]
The Sri Lankan Commissioner of Elections is to hold interview to leaders of eleven newly formed political parties who have applied for registration on June 17. Janatha Nidahas Peramuna (JNP), a splinter group of the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) led by Wimal Weerawanse is one of eleven parties. Meanwhile the Commissioner of Elections is reported to have decided to call for nominations for the Sabragamuwa Provincial Council (SPC) and North Central Provincial Council (NCPC).

The official announcement in this regard is to be made on Monday.

There are over fifty political parties registered with the Elections Secretariat in Sri Lanka.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: