Batticaloa district development meeting held without TNA parliamentarians

[TamilNet, Tuesday, 31 March 2009, 10:16 GMT]
Tamil National Alliance (TNA) parliamentarians representing the people of Batticaloa district, P. Ariyanenthiran, S.Jeyanandamoorthy, K. Thangeswary and T. Kanagasabai did not attend the Annual Batticaloa District Development meeting Monday in Batticaloa District Secretariat for fear of danger to their lives by the paramilitary men operating along with the Sri Lanka Army (SLA) and Special Task Force (STF) in Batticaloa district, sources in Batticaloa. This is a meeting where the district’s parliamentarians allocate funds to various development projects in the district.

District Development Committee meeting and District Coordinating meeting were held in the Secretariat under tight security arrangements Monday.

The meetings took place under the joint chairmanship of Eastern Province Governor, Mohan Vijayawickrama, Minister of Disaster and Relief, M. S. S. Ameer Ali, National Integration Minister, Vinayagamoorthy Muralitharan alias Karuna and Eastern Province Chief Minister, Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan alias Pillayan.

Funds allocated by parliamentarians for development projects for the year passed as well as the allocation of funds for the current year were discussed in the meeting.

Prpblems faced by the departments which carry out the development projects and the needs of the people were matters discussed in the two meetings.

Eastern Provincial Council ministers, members, Mayor of Batticaloa, Regional Council presidents, Government Agent Batticaloa district, District Secretariat officials and Departmental heads participated in the above meeting.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: