ACTC submits own list of candidates to contest Jaffna electorate

[TamilNet, Friday, 26 February 2010, 14:05 GMT]
All Ceylon Tamil Congress (ACTC) party which had quit Tamil National Alliance (TNA) submitted Friday its nomination list at Jaffna Secretariat with Sinnathurai Varatharajan, a teacher of economics, as its chief candidate, sources in Jaffna said. Many prominent people in the peninsula as well as the Jaffna University community are said to be supporting ACTC in the forthcoming parliamentary election in Jaffna district electorate.

political parties submit nominations

ACTC nomination list consists of the following names:

Sinnathurai Varatharajan, economics teacher – chief candidate.

Vijayaratnam John Manoharan Kennedy – former lecturer of Eastern University.

Kanthasamy Thirulogamoorthy – Doctor.

Santham Theepan – fisherman.

Nadesu Thurairajah – registrar of marriages.

Nagalingam Kulanthaivelu – teacher.

Visvalingam Manivanan – student.

Francis Vincent de Paul – trader.

Sellathurai Subramaniam – retired teacher.

Ms. Pathmini Sithamparanathan - former MP

Selvarajah Gajenthiran -former MP

Gajendrakumar Kangkesar Ponnambalam - Lawyer, Gen. Secretary ACTC.

Meanwhile, Nallathamby Srikantha and Kanakalingam Sivajilingam who were thrown out of TNA have submitted a list of candidate under Leftist Front with Nallathamby Srikantha as its chief candidate.

political parties submit nominations
political parties submit nominations

Ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) submitted its nomination list to contest Jaffna electorate Friday.

UPFA list has Eelam Peoples Democratic Party (EPDP) Douglas Devananda as its chief candidate while EPDP members Chandrakumar Murugesu, Sylvestri Alentin Uthayan, Pasupathy Seevarathinam, Allexander Soosaimuthu Thas, Kanthasamy Kamalendran, Aiyathurai Srirangeswaran, Murukupillai Sripathy are also included in the list.

Of the total 12 candidates of UPFA 4 are from Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and their names are Ramanathan Anthayan, Sri Saravanapavan, Sinnathamby Nadarasa Yogarasa and Mohamed Ameen.

The nomination lists tendered at Jaffna Secretariat are being scrutinized by the Assistant Election Officer for selection Friday after 12 noon.

political parties submit nominations


Latest 15 Reports
21.05.20 15:56   Photo
TYO-UK pushes back on British Foreign Secretary's May 18 tweet
20.05.20 22:09  
SL TID interrogates outspoken Tamil activist VS Sivakaran in Mannaar
19.05.20 16:23   Photo
IBC's sister-media Gagana used to threaten Tamil villagers in Trinco on 18 May Remembrance
19.05.20 07:42   Photo
Eezham Tamil and Muslim solidarity non-negotiable in true spirit of Mu'l'livaaykkaal
18.05.20 23:20   Photo
Occupying SL military desecrates Remembrance Day candles, harasses Tamil politicians
18.05.20 07:11   Photo
Remembrance event urges Tamils to own justice project, establish genocidal intent of Sinhala state
17.05.20 05:18   Photo
Break paradigm that regards Tamils as victims to achieve equitable solution: Balakumaran in 2004
16.05.20 16:54   Photo
The Guardian succumbs to pressure from SL High Commission on indigenous term Eelam
15.05.20 12:26   Photo
SL Army fires at Tamil youth in Point Pedro, Jaffna
14.05.20 21:28   Photo
IC deceived Tamils on genocide investigation: Students of Faculty of Art at Jaffna University
13.05.20 22:55   Photo
Remembrance of Tamil Genocide and Resistance commences in occupied Tamil Eelam
12.05.20 23:03  
India neither ‘balancer’ or ‘challenger’ to China in Indo-Pacific: Aussie think-tank
11.05.20 20:25  
Outspoken CCP called back from North, former commander appointed as top health bureaucrat
10.05.20 21:24  
Mannaar fishers confront off-season right after Pandemic curfew ravaging their livelihood: Alam
09.05.20 11:31   Photo
Occupying Sinhala soldiers mete out revenge assaults against Tamil families in Jaffna, Vanni
Find this article at: