1867 candidates contesting in North-East

[TamilNet, Friday, 26 February 2010, 15:02 GMT]
A total of 1867 candidates are set to contest the up coming April eight Parliamentary Elections in Sri Lanka’s north and east where 31members will be elected to the SL Parliament. The candidates will contest in the districts of Jaffna, Vanni, Batticoloa, Trincomalee and Digamadulla. The total includes those from eight recognized political parties while the rest are independent and from smaller parties that will have no actual bearing on the outcome of the results. The number of candidates in Ampaa'rai district is second highest with 660 candidates, next to Colombo district with 836 candidates from 22 political parties and independent groups.

In the Jaffna District there are 324 candidates contesting from 15 political parties and 12 independent groups.

There are 306 candidates contesting from 18 political parties and nine independent groups in the Vanni district.

In the Batticoloa district there are 360 candidates from 17 political parties and 27 independent groups contesting in the elections.

There are 217 candidates from 17 political parties 14 independent groups in the eastern port city district of Trincomalee.

660 candidates are contesting in Ampaa'rai district from 17 political parties and 49 independent groups.



Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: