ITAK wins 12 local body elections in NorthEast

[TamilNet, Saturday, 19 March 2011, 12:22 GMT]
The Tamil National Alliance (TNA), contesting under the symbol of Ilankai Thamil Arasu Katchchi (ITAK), captured the administration of twelve local authorities including two Urban Councils (UC) and Predesiya Sabas (PS) in the North and East in the elections held Thursday. The TNA failed to capture power of the Moothoor PS in Trincomalee district but was able secure three seats out of 11. Elections to local bodies in Jaffna district and to some in the districts of Trincomalee, Ampaarai and Mullaithivu were not held Thursday.

The ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) government led by Sri Lanka’s President Mahinda Rajapakse secured power in 205 local bodies out of 234.

The main opposition United National Party (UNP) was able to win in only in nine local bodies.

The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) won four local bodies.

The ITAK won the Trincomalee Urban Council, Mannaar Urban Council and ten PSs- Verugal in Trincomalee district, Aalaiyadivembu and Naavithanvelli in Ampaarai district, Maanthai West and Maanthai East in Mullaithivu district, Mannaar and Naanaaddaan in Mannaar district, Vavuniyaa North, Vavuniyaa South and Venkalacheddikulam in Vavuniyaa district.

Elections to 64 local bodies which included Seruvila PS, Kantale PS, Trincomalee town , Kuchchaveli PS in Trincomalee district, Kaaraitivu PS, Thirukoil PS, PS in Ampaarai district, Pachchipallai PS, Karaichchi PS, Pooneryn PS in Killinochchi district and three UCs, Valvettithurai, Point Pedro and Chavakachcheri and 13 Predesiya Sabhas at Kaarainagar, Kayts, Delft island, Velani, Valigamam (west), Waligamam (North), Valigamam (East), Valigamam (North-East), Valigamam (South), Valigamam (East), Vadamaradchchi (North-East), Point Pedro, Chavakachcheri and Nallur in the Jaffna district could not be held due to legal action against rejection of nominations by the Returning Officers, Election Secretariat spokesman said.

The Election Secretariat said that in addition to these 64 local bodies, polls at Puthukudirippu PS and Thunukaai PS in the Mullaithivu district aslo had to be put off due to ongoing mine clearing operations.

UPFA polled 3,338,401 and won 1839 seats. The ITAK polled 70,171 votes and obtained 76 seats and the UNP polled 2,032,891 votes and obtained 892 seats. The SLMC polled 88,592 votes and obtained 50 seats and Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna obtained 57 seats with 181,270 votes. The elections were held to 205 local bodies to elect 3,036 members.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: