Sampanthan, Selvam, Mavai among TNA elected

[TamilNet, Thursday, 06 December 2001, 16:41 GMT]
Mr. R. Sampanthan the chief candidate of the Tamil National Alliance for Trincomalee scored the highest preference votes among the alliance candidates who contested the general election for Sri Lanka’s 12th Parliament. He got 40110 votes out of the 56,119 the TNA garnered in Trincomalee, elections officials said.

Mr. Selvam Adaikalanathan scored the second highest preference votes among the TNA leaders by getting about thirty thousand votes in the Vanni. Election officials in Jaffna said that Mr. V. Anandasangaree was leading in the preference votes for TNA candidates in the peninsula. Ex MP Joseph Pararajasingham came second in Batticaloa, beaten by a TELO candidate who is a new comer to Tamil politics.

Mr. T. Thangavadivel of Tamil National Alliance. (Photo:TamilNet)
Mr. T. Thangavadivel (London Muruga), a bachelor who is a retired soil scientist from the village of Araipattai, 8 kilometres south of the eastern town, scored the highest number of preference votes in Batticaloa.

Election officials said that ex-MP for Batticaloa, Mr. Pon Selvarajah was most likely to be elected the third. However, Mr. Selvarajah told Tamilnet “I am keeping my fingers crossed. Nothing is certain”.

In Jaffna, Mr. Mavai Senathirajah, Mr. K. Gajendrakumar (Mr. Kumar Ponnambalam’s son), Mr. Nadarajah Raviraj (ex-Jaffna Mayor) and Appathurai Vinayagamoorthy have also been elected along with Mr. Anandasangaree, officials said. Election officials said that the TELO candidate Mr. N. K Sivajilingam was likely to be elected although he is running neck to neck with the TULF’s Aravindan.

In Vanni, Mr. Selvam Adaikalanathan, Raja Kuhaneswran (TELO) and Mr. Sivasakthy Anandan (EPRLF) were elected from the TNA.

In Ampara, Mr. Chandranheru Ariyanayagam, the TNA’s chief candidate has been elected MP.


Latest 15 Reports
04.02.24 15:40   Photo
சியோனிசம் காணும் தோல்வி ஈழத்தமிழருக்குப் பலன் தரவல்ல படிமை மாற்றத்தின் அறிகுறி
24.04.22 05:44  
தீவின் நெருக்கடிச் சூழலில் ஈழத்தமிழர் தேசம் கடைப்பிடிக்கவேண்டிய நிலைப்பாடுகள்
09.04.22 14:44   Photo
குறிதவறும் ஈழத்தமிழர் தலைமைகளுக்கு வரலாறு தருகின்ற எச்சரிக்கை
21.01.22 07:24   Photo
ஈழத்தமிழர் தேசத்தின் தலைமைத்துவம் தேர்தல் அரசியற் கட்சிகளுக்கு அப்பாலானது
02.11.21 15:32   Photo
13 ஆம் சட்டத்திருத்தத்தால் கட்டமைக்கப்பட்ட இன அழிப்பை எதிர்கொள்ள முடியுமா?
15.09.21 08:19  
English version not available
17.05.21 19:23   Photo
Ananthi blames war criminal Silva for blocking collective memorial at Mu'l'livaaykkaal
09.04.21 14:46  
English version not available
23.03.21 12:41   Photo
No focus on Tamil genocide, geopolitics gets played out in Geneva in favour of QUAD formation
21.03.21 13:34   Photo
Navi Pillay explains ‘human rights’ limitations in Geneva on Tamil genocide
15.03.21 20:36   Photo
Deceived Tamil activists in UK falsely claimed ‘substantial changes’ to Zero draft
09.03.21 21:34   Photo
UK repeatedly wronged Tamils says hunger-striker, demands genocide justice
26.02.21 11:53   Photo
Tamils witness false dilemma in Geneva as geopolitical formations pit against each other
19.02.21 14:02   Photo
UK not prepared to push for ICC option in new UNHRC Resolution
07.02.21 23:16   Photo
Unprecedented P2P uprising paves the way for rights-oriented politics of Tamils and Muslims
Find this article at: