Sixteen villages in Jaffna get electricity supply

[TamilNet, Sunday, 02 March 2003, 14:24 GMT]
Minister of Power and Energy Mr.Karu Jayasuriya Sunday inaugurated electricity supply to sixteen villages in the Jaffna district. The electricity supply to these villages was disconnected ten years ago, Ceylon Electricity Board sources said.

Minister Mr.Karu Jayasuriya and his deputy Mr.Sagara Ratnayake from Sunday morning till noon switched on newly installed transformers at Kuppilan, Navakiri, Puttur, Viyaparimoolai and Vallipurakovilady extending the power supply to several villages in the Valigamam north division, sources said.

In the afternoon several transformers were switched on by Minister Karu Jayasuriya and his deputy at Avarankal, Vatharawathai, Sirupiddy, Karanthan, Kopay Krishnan Kovilady, Kondavil, Kumarakoddam, Navaly, Mathagal, Ilavalai and Mahiapitty in the Valigamam east division, sources said.

Ministers Mr. T.Maheswaran, Dr.Jayalath Jayawardene, Jaffna district parliamentarian Mr.M.K.Sivajilingam, General Manager of the CEW Mr.S.S.Wijeratne, CEB's northern region general manager Mr.S.Muthuratnanandan also participated in the event,

Minister Mr.Karu Jayasuriya addressing a meeting at Jaffna Weerasingham Hall said that the large scale electrification project has been taken by his ministry because of the direction by the Prime Minister that people of Jaffna should enjoy benefit of the peace process.

Minister Mr.Karu Jayasuriya added that more than six thousand families would benefit by the power supply inaugurated Sunday. He said more than sixty thousand families have electricity facilities.


Latest 15 Reports
04.02.24 15:40   Photo
சியோனிசம் காணும் தோல்வி ஈழத்தமிழருக்குப் பலன் தரவல்ல படிமை மாற்றத்தின் அறிகுறி
24.04.22 05:44  
தீவின் நெருக்கடிச் சூழலில் ஈழத்தமிழர் தேசம் கடைப்பிடிக்கவேண்டிய நிலைப்பாடுகள்
09.04.22 14:44   Photo
குறிதவறும் ஈழத்தமிழர் தலைமைகளுக்கு வரலாறு தருகின்ற எச்சரிக்கை
21.01.22 07:24   Photo
ஈழத்தமிழர் தேசத்தின் தலைமைத்துவம் தேர்தல் அரசியற் கட்சிகளுக்கு அப்பாலானது
02.11.21 15:32   Photo
13 ஆம் சட்டத்திருத்தத்தால் கட்டமைக்கப்பட்ட இன அழிப்பை எதிர்கொள்ள முடியுமா?
15.09.21 08:19  
English version not available
17.05.21 19:23   Photo
Ananthi blames war criminal Silva for blocking collective memorial at Mu'l'livaaykkaal
09.04.21 14:46  
English version not available
23.03.21 12:41   Photo
No focus on Tamil genocide, geopolitics gets played out in Geneva in favour of QUAD formation
21.03.21 13:34   Photo
Navi Pillay explains ‘human rights’ limitations in Geneva on Tamil genocide
15.03.21 20:36   Photo
Deceived Tamil activists in UK falsely claimed ‘substantial changes’ to Zero draft
09.03.21 21:34   Photo
UK repeatedly wronged Tamils says hunger-striker, demands genocide justice
26.02.21 11:53   Photo
Tamils witness false dilemma in Geneva as geopolitical formations pit against each other
19.02.21 14:02   Photo
UK not prepared to push for ICC option in new UNHRC Resolution
07.02.21 23:16   Photo
Unprecedented P2P uprising paves the way for rights-oriented politics of Tamils and Muslims
Find this article at: