Nine Tamil scholars to receive NE Governor's Award

[TamilNet, Thursday, 13 April 2006, 03:36 GMT]
The list of names of nine recipients for the North East Governor's Award for the Year 2005 was released Wednesday by the Provincial Secretary for the Provincial Education and Cultural Affairs Ministry Mr.R.Thiagalingam. The recipients who are reputed Tamil scholars will be presented with awards on the second day of two-day Twelfth North East Tamil Literary Festival, which is to commence on April 20th at Mannar Town Hall, sources said.

The names of recipients of Governor's Award follow:

Jaffna district (02 recipients):
  1. Mr.Muthukumar Gopalakrishnan (Kannan)-Musician
  2. Mr.Selliah Sivapragasam- Sculptor

Trincomalee district (02):
  1. Mr.P.Kandiah (Gandhi Master)
  2. Ms Rajeswary Thedchanamoorthy- Carnatic Musician

Wanni district (02):
  1. Mr.Aruna Sellathurai- Broadcaster
  2. Mr.Pon.Theivendran- Author

Batticaloa district (01):
  1. Mr.Thambipillai Nallalingam- Annaviyar

Amparai district (01):
  1. Mr.U.L.Adam Bawa- Short story writer

Mannar district (01):
  1. Francis Xavier Lambert- Musician


Latest 15 Reports
22.10.17 21:55   Photo
Colombo seizes more lands for Sinhala colonisation in Trincomalee through engineering Tamil-Muslim divide in East
21.10.17 21:46  
Unitary constitution imposing choice irrelevant to fundamentals needs rejection by Tamils
20.10.17 07:02  
Jaffna University students boycott classes against manipulative justice of genocidal Sri Lanka
19.10.17 17:11   Photo
Sirisena disappoints student leaders, Cooray humiliates families of hunger-striking prisoners
18.10.17 23:45  
Eastern Provincial Land authority discriminates Tamils
17.10.17 18:46   Photo
Paramilitary operative employed at Cooray's secretariat in Jaffna harasses public servants
16.10.17 07:15   Photo
UN Refugee agency ignorant of stranded Tamil refugees in Indonesia
15.10.17 19:12  
Tamil fisherman rammed by intruding Sinhala fishermens’ boat, fishing disputes escalate in Jaffna
14.10.17 07:34   Photo
Tamil protesters confront Maithiripala Sirisena in Jaffna
13.10.17 17:40   Photo
North at standstill, Sampanthan not to accompany Sirisena to Jaffna
12.10.17 23:35  
SL military postpones land release for 2 years as UN awarded Colombo with 2 more years in Geneva
11.10.17 23:48   Photo
20 Tamil organisations to lay siege to SL Governor's office on Friday
10.10.17 22:05   Photo
SL ‘Manipulative Justice’ exposed once again in Tamil political prisoners’ case: Sivapalan
09.10.17 22:09  
Protests gain momentum as hunger-striking political prisoners’ health deteriorates
08.10.17 23:00   Photo
SL constitutional discourse seen coupled with ‘Vision 2025’ policy of genocidal Sri Lanka
Find this article at: