SLFP candidates contest via EPRLF lists

[TamilNet, Tuesday, 23 December 1997, 23:59 GMT]
The EPRLF filed nominations to all the local government bodies in the Jaffna peninsula this morning including the Valvettithurai urban council. Former central committee member of the EROS Kandasamy Balanadarajah (Sinna Bala) is the group's chief candidate for the Waligamam east Pradeshiya Sabha.

Sinna Bala worked with the Eelanatham daily while it was published in Jaffna after he opted to remain with the faction of the EROS which did not leave the LTTE controlled areas in 1990. Many Tamil political observers expressed surprise at his decision.

The group has included six candidates in its election lists who are members of the Sudu Nelum movement, the powerful propaganda arm of the SLFP led by Sri Lankan President confidante and cabinet minister Managala Samaraweera.

The chief organiser of the Sudu Nelum movement for the Jaffna district Mr. 'Mangala' Nesan is an EPRLF candidate for the Jaffna municipality.

Observers said that this implies a tacit election alliance between the SLFP and the EPRLF. The group told TamilNet that it has fielded thirty women candidates.

Following is the list of EPRLF's chief candidates:

Waligamam east Pradeshiya Sabha - Kandasamy Balanadarajah.

Waligamam north Pradeshiya Sabha - Nagamuttu Nagendran (EPRLF cadre)

Nallur Pradeshiya Sabha - Nadarajah Thanapalaratnam.

Waligamam south Pradeshiya Sabha- Kandaiah Srikanthan

Waligamam west Pradeshiya Sabha - Murugaiah Manoranjan.

Waligamam south west Pradeshiya Sabha - Ariyakkutty John.

Pt. Pedro urban council - Subramaniam Thangakopal.

Pt. Pedro Pradeshiya Sabha - Mrs. Anthonypillai Sarathathevi.

Pachchilaippalli Pradeshiya Sabha - Sellathurai Raveenthiran.

Chavakachcheri urban council Kandaiah Sivarajah.

Chavakachcheri Pradeshiya Sabha - Vairamuthu Vigneswaran.

Kayts Pradeshiya Sabha - Sinnathamby Thangarajah

Velanai Pradeshiya Sabha - Roy Jeyaseelan.

Delft Pradeshiya Sabha - Kandaiah Kanakaratnam

Valvettithurai urban council - Kalikutty Jeyapal.

Vadamaradchi south west Pradeshiya Sabha - Selvarajah Mathivathanan.


Latest 15 Reports
12.07.18 12:22   Photo
Genocidal Sri Lanka seizes ancient coastal hamlet of Tamil-speaking aborigines in Trincomalee
11.07.18 18:20  
Collaborationist sections of TNA lose significance, Wigneswaran holds key to unified Tamil polity
10.07.18 21:53  
SL Military Intelligence recommences recruitment of notorious ex-paramilitary operatives
09.07.18 22:30   Photo
Antiquities Ordinance used to justify Sinhalicisation of 48 locations in Mullaiththeevu
08.07.18 19:06   Photo
TNPF protests against Colombo's move to militarise Jaffna Fort
07.07.18 19:56   Photo
SL Police in Champoor blocks remembrance of Tamils massacred by SL military
06.07.18 23:17  
Jaffna University silent to Colombo's pressure, motives behind Fort excavation questioned
05.07.18 23:49  
Tamils need native movements to confront Colombo-centric environmental exploitations
04.07.18 20:29  
Geneva-based human rights regime is big disappointment: Tamil political prisoners
03.07.18 23:39   Photo
Source files from one of digital cameras witnessing 2009 genocide released to public domain
02.07.18 22:55   Photo
Macro-level approach needed to confront genocidal land grab in Mullaiththeevu
01.07.18 10:20  
Champoor Tamils experience trauma as Colombo trains marine forces in occupied Moothoor East
30.06.18 22:08   Photo
Colombo accelerates delinking of Tamil-speaking demographic contiguity in North-East
29.06.18 23:05   Photo
Sinhala colonisation chokes off territorial contiguity of Tamil homeland at Thennai-maravadi
28.06.18 23:38  
Sinhalas have come in big way, as opening of Kandyan Kingdom: Rt Rev Jebanesan
Find this article at: