Tamil Alliance files nominations in East and Vavuniya

[TamilNet, Friday, 26 October 2001, 16:42 GMT]
The Tamil national alliance filed nominations for the electoral districts of Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Ampara and the Vanni Friday. The Alliance could not file nominations in Jaffna because its list of candidates for the northern electorate has not been finalised, Tamil party sources said.

The parties in the alliance have not yet reached a consensus over the inclusion of Mr. C. V. K Sivagnanam, a former commissioner of the Jaffna municipality, in the Jaffna list. Mr. Sivagnanam was proposed by the All CeylonTamil Congress as a candidate for Jaffna. The chief candidates for Batticaloa, Ampara and Trincomalee are members of the TULF. The chief candidate of the Tamil National Alliance in the Vanni is Mr. 'Selvam' Adaikalanathan, leader of the Tamil Eelam Liberation Organisation.

The chief candidate for the Alliance in Ampara is Mr. Chandranehru Ariyanagam of Thirukovil. Mr. Chandranheru is the son of the Federal Party stalwart 'Arappor' Ariyanayagam. Mr. Balasundaram Venkatasalam who is one of the Alliance candidates for Ampara was formerly principle of Wesley College in Kalmunai.

The TULF's General Secretary, Mr. R. Sampanthan, is the chief candidate of the Alliance in Trincomalee. Mr. Joseph Pararajasingham is the chief candidate in Batticaloa. The TELO's political adviser Mr. N. Srikantha was nominated as a candidate on the Alliance's Trincomalee list at the eleventh hour.

Two persons appointed by All Ceylon Tamil Congress as candidates were rejected in the east. The ACTC appointed Mr. Suriyamoorthy, the former Chairman of the Trincomalee Urban Council, as its candidate for the Alliance. This however was cancelled at the insistence of the ACTC's Trinco branch. The ACTC also appointed Mr. Rajan Sathiyamoorthy, one of the most senior United National Party organisers in the eastern province, as its main candidate for Batticaloa. This too was rejected by the Alliance.

The Tamil National Alliance's lists of candidates for Ampara, Batticaloa, Trincomalee and Vanni are as follows:

Trincomalee (four MPs are returned from the electorate):

  1. Rajavarothiam Sampanthan ( chief candidate)-TULF
  2. Kathirgamathamby Thurairetnasingham-TULF
  3. Rajaretnam Muralimanohar -ACTC
  4. Mrs Kamalathevi Thillainathan -TULF
  5. Sanmugarajah Gowrimuhunthan -TULF)
  6. Ponnampalam Ramanathan- TULF
  7. Nallathamby Srikantha -TELO

Batticaloa (number of MPs five):

  1. Joseph Pararajasingham
  2. Ponnambalam Selvarajah
  3. Alagusubramaniam Sathiyanathan
  4. Arulampalam Selventhiran
  5. Seenithamby Kumaraguru
  6. Gnanamuttu Krishnapillai (Vellimalai) - ACTC
  7. Nithiyananthan Indrakumar (Prasanna) - TELO
  8. Thambiraja Thangavadivel (London Muruga) - TELO

(Photo: TamilNet)

Vanni District (Six MPs)

  1. Adaikalanathan Amirthanathan (Selvam) -TELO
  2. Irasa Kuhaneswaran -TELO
  3. T. K. S. S. Noharathalingam -TELO
  4. Kandaiah Periyannan -TELO
  5. Kulathevarajah Sathasivam-TULF
  6. Iampillai Kandaiah-TULF
  7. Anthoni Kashmeer Dalima-TULF
  8. Nadesu Sivasakthi Anandan-EPRLF
  9. Kandaiah Arumugam Senthilnathan-ACTC

Ampara District (Seven MPs):

  1. Chandranehru Ariyanayagam - TULF
  2. Sinnathamby Sriskandarajah - TELO
  3. Pathmanathan Kanakasabhai - TULF
  4. Veluppillai Sinnathamby - TULF
  5. Balasundaram Venkatasalam - TULF
  6. Thangarajah Sriskandarajah- TULF
  7. Mylvaganam Arunagirinathan -TULF
  8. Ekaambaram Kunjithamby - TULF
  9. Kanesapillai Raguathy - TULF
  10. James Francis - TULF


Latest 15 Reports
21.10.17 21:46  
Unitary constitution imposing choice irrelevant to fundamentals needs rejection by Tamils
20.10.17 07:02  
Jaffna University students boycott classes against manipulative justice of genocidal Sri Lanka
19.10.17 17:11   Photo
Sirisena disappoints student leaders, Cooray humiliates families of hunger-striking prisoners
18.10.17 23:45  
Eastern Provincial Land authority discriminates Tamils
17.10.17 18:46   Photo
Paramilitary operative employed at Cooray's secretariat in Jaffna harasses public servants
16.10.17 07:15   Photo
UN Refugee agency ignorant of stranded Tamil refugees in Indonesia
15.10.17 19:12  
Tamil fisherman rammed by intruding Sinhala fishermens’ boat, fishing disputes escalate in Jaffna
14.10.17 07:34   Photo
Tamil protesters confront Maithiripala Sirisena in Jaffna
13.10.17 17:40   Photo
North at standstill, Sampanthan not to accompany Sirisena to Jaffna
12.10.17 23:35  
SL military postpones land release for 2 years as UN awarded Colombo with 2 more years in Geneva
11.10.17 23:48   Photo
20 Tamil organisations to lay siege to SL Governor's office on Friday
10.10.17 22:05   Photo
SL ‘Manipulative Justice’ exposed once again in Tamil political prisoners’ case: Sivapalan
09.10.17 22:09  
Protests gain momentum as hunger-striking political prisoners’ health deteriorates
08.10.17 23:00   Photo
SL constitutional discourse seen coupled with ‘Vision 2025’ policy of genocidal Sri Lanka
07.10.17 23:21  
Colombo brings Sinhala private partnerships to wage structural genocide in Vanni
Find this article at: